Stilettos and Diapers Reviews: 2011

Monday, December 5, 2011

Odiz Baby Supply Review + {GIVEAWAY} CLOSED

Random.org chose #2...Congrats, Lindsey

After little man was born, I was contacted by Odiz Baby Supply to see if I wanted to try an item from their shop. I love supporting shops like this instead of always buying things at the big box stores. ODIZ is a mom run company.  The owner has three children of her own, and only stocks products that she would use with her own children, so you know the products are safe, and high quality. They have a wide variety of products to choose from, including all the basics and great gift items. 

The product I chose to review was the Summer SwaddleMe. Callan has slept in this thing every night since I got it. No lie. It is $12 worth of peaceful sleep. If you have a baby or need to buy a gift for someone, go to Odiz and buy this! 
It just squishes the baby all snug like they are in your belly! 


A awesome perk about Odiz is their Facebook monthly promotion. For the month of December, you will get a package of Paci Wipes free with any $20 purchase! Use code: CANDYCANE at checkout! 

Odiz Baby Supply is giving one reader a $10 credit to use towards anything on their site! 

How to enter:

Follow Stilettos and Diapers (Mandatory entry)
Follow Stilettos and Diapers Review Blog (Mandatory entry)

Follow Stilettos and Diapers on Twitter and tweet about this giveaway (1 extra entry)
Like Odiz on Facebook (1 extra entry)
Like Stilettos and Diapers on Facebook (1 extra entry)
Grab Stilettos and Diapers button (1 extra entry)

Please leave a separate comment for each entry and make sure there is a way to contact you! 
                
Giveaway ends December 13th at midnight EST. I received the product above to review, but was in no other way compensated for this post. All thoughts and opinions are mine.

Monday, October 31, 2011

Seventh Generation Review + {GIVEAWAY} CLOSED

Winner is #27, Nancy of Nancy's Couture! Congrats! 

Seventh Generation just sent me a prize pack of their new natural dish soaps to try out. All of their scents come from fields, not factories. They contain only essential oils and botanical extracts while still delivering real cleaning power. Just like other Seventh Generation products, their dish soaps are free of unnecessary synthetic colors or chemically engineered scents.

Seventh Generation Nature Makes Perfect Sense sweepstakes is going on right now. You can win a trip to one of the locations that inspired their new scents, Italy, France or Vermont! 

This is the prize pack I was sent. I LOVE it! My favorite scent is the Fresh Citrus and Ginger. It smells just as the title calls it...FRESH! I feel really good about washing the dishes we eat off of with chemical free soap. I am also loving the natural sponges and the awesome Le Creuset pan. I saw it in my grocery store for $50! 
Want to win a prize pack of your own? You will get all these same things I did:

  • (4) bottles of Seventh Generation natural dish liquid varieties in Free & Clear, Lavender Floral & Mint, Fresh Citrus & Ginger, and Lemongrass & Clementine Zest scents.
  • Premium 3 Qt. 12" x 9" Baking Dish from Le Creuset.
  • (2) Twist© loofah sponges and (2) Twist© scour pads made from 100% post-recycled materials.
  • Set of 3 organic cotton dish towels.

How to enter:
Tell me which of the Seventh Generation natural dish liquid varieties you are most interested in trying. (Mandatory Entry)

Follow Stilettos and Diapers (Mandatory entry)
Follow Stilettos and Diapers Review Blog (Mandatory entry)

Follow Stilettos and Diapers on Twitter and tweet about this giveaway. (1 extra entry)
Follow Seventh Generation on Twitter (1 extra entry)
Like Stilettos and Diapers on Facebook (1 extra entry)
Like Seventh Generation on Facebook (1 extra entry)
Grab Stilettos and Diapers Button (1 extra entry)

Please leave a separate comment for each entry and make sure there is a way to contact you! 
                
Giveaway ends November 7th at midnight EST. 

Disclosure: The Seventh Generation Natural Dish Liquid prize pack, product and information have been provided by Seventh Generation through MyBlogSpark. All opinions are mine.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Freschetta Proud to Support Pink {GIVEAWAY} CLOSED

Winner is Annie from Our Little Family!
October is National Breast Cancer awareness month and the people at Freschetta have been helping out. All month, you can enter codes from specially marked packages of pizza for Freschetta to donate $1 for every code, up to $50,000, to the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. You can enter your codes at www.ProudToSupportPink.com

Freschetta is giving away 50 pink iPod shuffles every week in October to people who participate in the promotion. They are also giving 50 iPod shuffles each week to cancer centers across America. Make sure you participate and enter at www.ProudToSupportPink.com

Freschetta sent me a kit with a coupon for a free Freschetta pizza, along with 2 pairs of Freschetta Proud to Support Pink earphones. They are really cute! 

Want to win a kit for yourself? This is a quick giveaway that will end October 30th, so you have time to get in on the Proud to Support Pink promotion. 

How to enter:

Follow Stilettos and Diapers (Mandatory entry)
Follow Stilettos and Diapers Review Blog (Mandatory entry)
Follow Stilettos and Diapers on Twitter and tweet about this giveaway (1 extra entry)
Like Stilettos and Diapers on Facebook (1 extra entry)
Grab Stilettos and Diapers button (1 extra entry)

Please leave a separate comment for each entry and make sure there is a way to contact you! 
                
Giveaway ends October 30th at midnight EST. I must have winner's contact information by October 31st or another winner will be chosen. 

I received the kit above to review as well as information about the program. All opinions are mine. I was in no other way compensated for this giveaway. 

Monday, October 24, 2011

Christmas already?! Shutterfly {GIVEAWAY} CLOSED

Winners are #30 - Emily of The Johnson Five
#4 - Lisa of Being an American Mom

Congratulations! 

Yep. Its that time already. I find myself planning even more in advance seeing that I will have an infant hooked to me for every aspect of Christmas prep this year. I'm kinda terrified of the shopping...

Anyway, one thing that is easy, is the cards from Shutterfly. I got the cards there last year and was so happy with the way they turned out. They came in a box with envelopes and I even got matching return address labels. Sooo cute! 

This year, I have to choose a card that makes room for a family of 4 on the front! Here are some of my faves:

I can't get away from monograms.

I love this one, but it is really similar to last year's card.
 And this one may be my fave. I think the black makes it look so classy. 
Shutterfly has a huge variety of Christmas Cards, Greeting Cards and Thank You Cards to choose from. I will more than likely be visiting them once the baby is born to get birth announcements as well! 

Have you decided on cards yet for this year yet? The folks at Shutterfly are giving you a chance to win some cards of your own! 

3 lucky winners will receive a promo code for 25 cards of your choice! 

How to enter:

Follow Stilettos and Diapers (Mandatory entry)
Follow Stilettos and Diapers Review Blog (Mandatory entry)

Follow Stilettos and Diapers on Twitter and tweet about this giveaway. (1 extra entry)
Like Stilettos and Diapers on Facebook (1 extra entry)
Grab Stilettos and Diapers button (1 extra entry)

Please leave a separate comment for each entry and make sure there is a way to contact you! 
                
Giveaway ends November 1st at midnight EST. 

Monday, October 10, 2011

Longhorn Steakhouse Review + {GIVEAWAY} (CLOSED)

I was sent a gift card to try the Steakhouse Dinner for Two at Longhorn Steakhouse. I have actually never been there before so I was pretty excited to try it out! 

The Dinner for Two is a fantastic deal. You get 2 salads, 2 entrees and either an appetizer or a dessert all for $29.99! 


I was surprised 1) by the very large portions of food and 2) by the price. Where else can 2 people eat this much for $29.99?! 

This special deal only runs until October 16 so you need to go to Longhorn ASAP! 

Want to win a $30 gift card for yourself? This will be a fast giveaway since the promotion ends next weekend, so enter now! 

How to enter:
Follow Stilettos and Diapers (Mandatory entry)
Follow Stilettos and Diapers Review Blog (Mandatory entry)

Follow Stilettos and Diapers on Twitter and tweet about this giveaway. (1 extra entry)

Like Stilettos and Diapers on Facebook (1 extra entry)
Grab Stilettos and Diapers button (1 extra entry)

                Please leave a separate comment for each entry and make sure there is a way to contact you! 
Giveaway ends October 12 at midnight EST. Open to US residents only.

Saturday, October 1, 2011

Weight Watchers Ice Cream {REVIEW}

Congrats to Tabathia for winning the Veggie Tales Princess and the Popstar DVD! 

A couple weeks back, I had a massive package on my front porch. I opened it up to some steaming dry ice and all these delish things inside.
I love ice cream. I love chocolate. I don't love diet foods. I don't have any need to eat diet foods since I'm pregnant and all. But I tried them. All of them. And I was quite surprised. They're good. Like really good. And just because I don't need to eat diet foods right now, you better believe that in 5 weeks when I pop this baby out, I will be counting every.single.calorie.

Here are all the details on the flavors I was sent. Notice 3 of them have less than 80 calories! 
  • New Weight Watchers Snack Size Ice Cream Sandwiches: Two brand new flavors of Weight Watchers Ice Cream, low fat Vanilla Bean and Dutch Chocolate, have just 80 calories each. The variety pack includes four sandwiches of both flavors with a PointsPlus® value of 2 per sandwich.
  • New Weight Watchers Dark Chocolate Dulcé de Leché Dessert Bars: A highly indulgent ice cream bar featuring low fat dulcé de leché ice cream with a caramel swirl dipped in dark chocolate. Each bar has a PointsPlus value of 3 per bar and 120 calories.
  • New Weight Watchers Strawberry Fruit Bar: A healthier snack option for adults and kids, this bar is made with real fruit and is an excellent source of vitamin C. Plus, this delightfully fruity bar has 15 percent fewer calories and 30 percent less sugar than other national leading brands of fruit bars. Each has 70 calories and a PointsPlus value of 2 per bar.
  • Weight Watchers Strawberry Smoothie Bar: A blend of low-fat strawberry frozen yogurt and real strawberries. This bar is a good source of vitamin C and has the creamy goodness of a smoothie with just 60 calories and a PointsPlus value of 2 per bar.

My favorite were the Dark Chocolate Dulce de Leche. Hubs favorite were the Vanilla Bean ice cream sandwiches. I say were because they're gone. It only took us a couple weeks to get through them! Now, my first thought when I got them is, "I don't want to eat all this fake sugar". Surprise, surprise, they don't have artificial sugars in them. Just appropriately sized, low fat treats. I'm impressed. 

Even if you're not on Weight Watchers, these are perfect desserts for satisfying your sweet tooth when you are trying to be good and watching those calories. I say go get you some NOW! 

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Veggie Tales Princess and the Popstar Review + {GIVEAWAY}

I don't know about yours, but my little man LOVES Veggie Tales. His "Pa" got him hooked on them when he was little and he hasn't changed his mind about them! I love that I can put on a movie that I know is teaching him manners and character and not be worried in the least about him learning questionable things. 
Veggie Tales latest DVD is The Princess and the Popstar, A story of trading places. I wondered if Cooper would be into it as much as the other ones since it is more geared towards girls, but he loved this one just as much as the rest! 
Fanna Banana and Princess both are unhappy with the lives they are living. They end up trading places only to realize that the lives they have are exactly what God wants for them. It is full of upbeat songs that will totally stick in your head and bring a huge smile to your kids faces. And don't worry. Your kids fave Bob and Larry make appearances as well. 

Want to win your kids a copy? 
I mean, it is less than 90 days to CHRISTMAS! 

Follow Stilettos and Diapers (Mandatory entry)
Follow Stilettos and Diapers Review Blog (Mandatory entry)
Follow Stilettos and Diapers on Twitter and tweet about this giveaway. (1 extra entry)
Like Stilettos and Diapers on Facebook (1 extra entry)
Grab Stilettos and Diapers button (1 extra entry)

Please leave a separate comment for each entry and make sure there is a way to contact you! 
Giveaway ends September 30th at midnight EST.

Getting the nursery ready for baby!


 We have 6 weeks left until baby is here! Although I'm already a Mom and I have so much stuff left over from Cooper, I still feel like I have so much to prepare for. My house hasn't been "baby ready" in 3 years. I also have been thinking more about natural diapers and wipes. I used Pampers with Cooper, but realize now how many chemicals they actually put in them. Seventh Generation diapers and wipes are free of chlorine and fragrances. Seems like that should be what I use, right? 

These are the things I know I need to do and only a few have actually been done. Eek!

1. Wash all the baby clothes and blankets in hypoallergenic, natural baby detergent. I don't want anything hurting that sweet skin! 
2. Put all the toys with little pieces into childproof bins. I can't take Cooper's toys away, but I can make it so he has to ask for them. One tip I heard is to give him a paper towel tube. If the toy can fit through it, its too little to be around the baby. 
3. Since we are reusing the crib and changing table, it all needs to be cleaned with natural cleaners that won't leave any dangerous chemical residue. 
4. Get a big brother gift for Cooper and talk to him about the whole process. I want him to be prepared for us to be at the hospital a few days and for brother coming home. 
5. Get the car seat (that meets safety regulations) installed in the car in a spot that is a safe distance from 3 year old fingers. Hehe. 
6. Pack a bag for the hospital. Although I am scheduled to be induced, I need to have a bag ready just in case baby decides to come even earlier! 
7. Make sure I have bottles, passies, natural diaper ointment, baby washes and other must haves on hand. 
8. Stock up on books and movies for the long breastfeeding sessions while sitting in my bed.
9. Make plenty of healthy meals that can be stored in the freezer and easily heated up by the hubs.  
10. Paint the nursery in plenty of time for the fumes to be all cleared out. (Someone please tell the hubs this one!)

That is my list so far. What are your tips for me in the next 6 weeks? Have you tried Seventh Generations products? What are your thoughts? 

I wrote this blog post while participating in the SocialMoms and Seventh Generation blogging program, for a gift card worth $50. For more information on how you can participate, click here.

Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Pillsbury Sweet Moments Review and {GIVEAWAY} CLOSED

When MyBlogSpark asked me if I wanted to review Pillsbury Sweet Moments bite-sized brownies, I didn't need to hesitate. Like at all. Its chocolate. Enough said. 


I got lucky when hurricane Irene came this way because I had just grabbed a bag of the brownies at the store. We listened to the wind and rain while noshing on these sweet little pieces of heaven. I got the caramel cheesecake variety and they were freakin delish. My only complaint is that WE ATE THE WHOLE BAG. Whoops. Guess I can't blame Pillsbury for my complete and utter lack of self control, huh? 

I got all the things in the prize pack below and 1 winner will receive the same thing!
  • 2 VIP coupons for the free purchase of any Pillsbury® Sweet Moments® variety
  • Leather journal
  • Fleece blanket
  • Coffee mug


The blanket is super snuggly and has come in handy on my bedrest adventures. I will be pouring myself a cup of decaf and cashing in my other coupon in the very near future. Nom, nom, nom. 

Want to win?
Follow Stilettos and Diapers (Mandatory entry)
Follow Stilettos and Diapers Review Blog (Mandatory entry)
Follow Stilettos and Diapers on Twitter and tweet about this giveaway using the "#myblogspark hashtag.
(1 extra entry)
Like Stilettos and Diapers on Facebook (1 extra entry)
Grab Stilettos and Diapers button (1 extra entry)

Please leave a separate comment for each entry and make sure there is a way to contact you!
Giveaway ends September 8th at midnight EST


Pillsbury® Sweet Moments®, information, and giveaway have been provided by General Mills through MyBlogSpark. I received the prize pack shown above in exchange for my opinion on the product. I was in no other way compensated for this review. 

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

$100 Mary Kay Gift Pack {GIVEAWAY} CLOSED


This is a sponsored review from Mary Kay and BlogHer.

Thrilled. That’s what I was when I was asked to review Mary Kay makeup! I’ve
never worn anything from Mary Kay, but I knew they had to be doing something
right with all those pink Cadillacs!

 I got this beautiful package in the mail. Inside was a Compact Mini, Ultimate
Mascara in Black, Mineral Eye Bundle for Brilliant Blue Eyes, Mineral Cheek
Color in Shy Blush and Tinted Lip Balm in Rose.
 The thing that instantly caught my attention was eye shadows specifically for
my blue eyes. I think I’ve always just worn what color I like or what matches my
outfit, so I was super excited to try these made for me colors.

The Compact Mini is completely magnetic inside. All you have to do is drop the
eye shadows and blush right in and there is no wiggling around. I know I can’t
be the only one that has had a makeup bag full of crumbled eye shadow from it
falling out everywhere! There is also a storage space underneath the colors for
your brushes.
 Another brilliant thing, are these instructions for applying eye shadow.
 I seriously needed this. How am I 26 years old and never fully understood how to apply eye shadow?

Alright, ready for naked face. I’m needing some serious color, dontcha think?
 I followed the instructions to a tee using the Hazelnut, Chocolate Kiss and Spun
Silk eye shadows. They went on easily without crumbling down on my cheeks. As
a matter of fact, it didn’t even get crumbly as I rubbed the brush over the shadow
in the compact. Way to keep my bathroom counter cleaner!

I usually have a tan in the summer and have never been a big blush person.
Ummm, I think I’m crazy. I swept on a little bit of the Shy Blush Mineral Cheek
color and it made a world of difference. That stuff sold me.

And then there was mascara. If there is one beauty product I never want to be
without, mascara is it. I am picky. I like it dark and I like it to make my lashes va-
va-voom. This was the one thing that I was really skeptical of. 
I look crazy ridiculous while applying mascara.
 But look, y’all! I applied the mascara to my upper and lower lashes and was
shocked when I saw them. LOVE IT! Not clumpy, but not so thin that it doesn’t
make a difference.
 I generally wear chap stick only, maybe something with a tint once in a
while. When I put on the Rose Tinted Lip Balm, it felt much like chap stick. It
moisturized my lips, and the color was sheer enough to be worn all day, but had
enough color to look “made up”. Another product that shocked me!

I’m happy with the finished product! It all held up well all day long, even though I swept the front walkway when it was 94 out!

Want to try a face full of Mary Kay for yourself? Lucky for you, one reader will
receive a Mary Kay gift pack valued at $100 from Mary Kay and BlogHer!

How to enter:

1) Leave a comment telling me what Mary Kay product you would like to try!
2) Tweet about this promotion and leave the URL to that tweet in a comment on
this post.
3) Blog about this promotion and leave the URL to that post in a comment on this
post.
4) For those of you with no Twitter or blog, read the official rules and follow
instructions for an alternate form of entry.

Please leave a separate comment for each entry. 
No duplicate comments. Begins July 27, 2011 and ends August 26, 2011. 10 Winners (one from each participating blog) will receive a gift basket of Mary Kay® products (ARV $100 per basket). Odds of winning will depend upon the total number of eligible entries received.  Initial Winners will be notified by email and will have 72 hours to claim prize before it is awarded to the alternate winner. Open to legal residents of the 50 United States, including D.C. who are 18 years or older. For complete official rules, Visit the Official Rules.