Stilettos and Diapers Reviews

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

The new way of shopping: #AmazonCart

I am a member of the Collective Bias®  Social Fabric® Community. This shop has been compensated as part of a social shopper amplification for Collective Bias. #cbias



Have y'all heard of the new #AmazonCart collaboration between Amazon and Twitter? In a nutshell, it allows you to reply to any tweet that contains an Amazon link and the product ends up in your cart. Cool, huh? 


Now you may be thinking, why not just go to amazon and shop for what I want? Well, you can. And you, of course, still have that option. But, I love Amazon's flash deals and I'm constantly missing them. (Probably because I'm busy on Twitter.) I love that I can see a tweet, reply with #AmazonCart and the item is ready for purchase. I don't have to go searching for the item, it's already in my cart and all I have to do is checkout! And on top of that, it's just plain fun! 

Honestly, when I tried it for the first time, I was confused. Tried to add a cool phone charger to my cart and ended up with a nice tweet back from Amazon saying my account wasn't set up. This video cleared things right up for me to easily link my accounts and get to shopping! 

Over the past few days, I've bought Rubbermaid containers (huge deal on a flash sale!), baby wipes, socks for the hubs and packaging for my boutique. It's so nice to have the reminder of things you need, while you're on social media.

Here's a look at how it worked for me. 








Isn't that tweet back to you so cool? A little reminder to go buy your goods! 

This was a little different situation. I replied #AmazonCart for a flash deal on a Rubbermaid storage set. Amazon replied back that the item was no longer available, which happens sometimes for flash deals. BUT. When I went to buy the diapers, it was in my cart! Wahoo!!! 


After the tweet, all you have to do is go to Amazon and checkout. Of course, I used my Amazon Prime account! I can literally get things I need delivered to my door before I can schedule in a run to the store. It's amazing. 

You can share on Twitter about your purchases, making it possible for your friends to buy the same things you do. Something you love on an Amazon deal? Tweet the link to share it with your friends! 

There are several Twitter handles you can follow for Amazon, including @amazon, @amazondeals, @amazonfashion and @amazontechdeals

Happy Shopping! 

Monday, June 2, 2014

Teeth in Training

Did you know brushing should begin as soon as your babies first tooth comes in? I totally didn't with my firstborn. 3 months into motherhood, I was still busy trying to get into routine and back to normal. By about 5 months or so, I realized we needed another toothbrush in the mix! Luckily, with baby #2, we were well prepared when that first tooth came in. 
 photo 0c3463f5-8f1d-4025-b57e-59b8acf2319a_zps86350cba.jpg Compared to your tooth enamel, your baby's is 50% thinner. That's why you need expert protection! The little mouth experts ™ at Aquafresh have specially formulated their training toothpaste to be just what your baby's little teeth need. 
 photo 6b275219-0bbd-4669-add0-7f16173e20ff_zpsff983550.jpg
Callan thinks brushing his teeth is so much fun, especially when big brother is brushing his right next to him. He loves stand on the stool, even though he can barely see over the sink. He also loves to brush himself. I take a turn, then he takes a turn. Making brushing a fun routine is essential to keeping your kids teeth healthy! photo 7cf1925c-845e-4d1d-a1c8-500a296952b8_zps2bc1e629.jpg
Fluoride-free and safe to swallow (when used as directed), you can feel good about your little one using Aquafresh training toothpaste. With no artificial colors or preservatives, it's a natural choice, too. It's all we've used for our little guys until they learn to spit and we have 2 little mouthfuls of healthy teeth!
 photo dad21c16-adf3-4e79-978f-f5fa692d5adb_zps2575088f.jpg
Have a baby 2 or under? Head over here for a coupon to try Aquafresh for your little one! 

Please use product as directed on label.

Disclosure: This post was sponsored by Aquafresh through their partnership with POPSUGAR. While I was compensated by POPSUGAR to write a post about Aquafresh, all opinions are my own.

Monday, April 21, 2014

My Healthy Home with Ology

I am a member of the Collective Bias®  Social Fabric® Community. This shop has been compensated as part of a social shopper amplification for #CollectiveBias and its advertiser. #WalgreensOlogy
Since moving into our house back in December, we've been cleaning things out, trying to get rid of stuff we don't need. We both tend to be "savers" and I don't mean that in a good financial sense kind of way. We've gotten to the point, after several moves, that we just don't want to move this stuff around anymore. We just want an organized, healthy home. We've been slowly but surely, weeding through unnecessary things and and giving things to people that may need them. 

In all of this cleaning out and organizing, I've been doing actual cleaning as well. In our quest to be eating as healthy and naturally as possible, I've been paying a lot of attention to chemicals and processed foods. Why haven't I been looking at the labels on the back of my cleaners? I'm wiping these chemicals on the counters that my kids pick up food from and the bathtubs they sit in. It's actually so gross! 
 photo file_zps5541c5fd.jpg
After being introduced to the Ology line at Walgreens, I decided to give it a try. Now, Walgreens isn't somewhere that I would automatically think of as having natural products. Wrong. The Ology line is very large and has not only cleaners and detergent,  but paper towels, toilet paper and tissues. My store didn't have everything from the line yet, but they also make shampoo, hand soaps, paper plates, napkins and much more. 
 photo file_zps64dbd7b0.jpg
Ology products contain no ammonia, bleach, parabens, formaldehyde, artificial dyes or fragrances. The wonderful thing about these Ology products doesn't stop at their ingredients, though. They're tree free, not tested on animals and are cost effective. With these products I bought, I got $8 back on my Walgreens Balance Rewards card! 
 photo file_zps9e81e86e.jpg
These products fit right into our goal of a more natural, healthy lifestyle. Sometimes, eating healthy is much more expensive than junk food. I didn't find that comparison with the Ology products. They are very comparable in price to other products I buy and the sales at Walgreens are fantastic. I so appreciate Walgreens for actually making it easy for us to care better for our bodies, our homes and our environment. 
 photo file_zpsab52b707.jpg

You can find Ology products at your local Walgreens right in the aisle with their counterparts. No searching around the store for a natural section. 
You can check out more about Ology products in this "Mom's Cool Things" video from Walgreens.

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Make a Caramel Macchiato at Home {with Verismo}

Did y'all know that I used to be a Barista? Yep. Through nursing school, I wore that Starbucks apron proudly. I loved making fancy drinks, seeing regular customers and of course, drinking all that coffee myself. I loved that job so much, that after I graduated and worked as a nurse, I kept working there. I would open at 4am and do a 4 hour shift before my nursing shift started. It was awesome. Until I realized that I couldn't go on very little sleep anymore, no matter how much coffee I drank. 

10 years later, I'm still a huge fan of the good ole joe. But probably the last coffee drinker on the face of the planet to not have a single cup coffee maker. Until now. I just got the Starbucks Verismo brewer from Staples. And take a look, it's champagne! 
Caramel Macchiato with Starbucks Verismo
This beautiful little machine makes a darn good cup of coffee. The House Blend pods are my favorite variety for a good cup of coffee in the morning. 

But, the barista in me loves this machine for more than just a good cup of coffee. The Verismo won my heart when it gave me a Starbucks Caramel Macchiato at 7am, while I was in my bathrobe. See, the Verismo has Milk Pods and Espresso Pods that let you create a "fancy drink" right in your own house. 

First up, I bought a bottle of Starbucks Vanilla Syrup. It's the same thing they use behind the counter and it comes in a bottle big enough to basically last your whole life. Put a Tablespoon of that stuff in your cup and get to brewing. 
Caramel Macchiato with Starbucks Verismo

The milk pod actually makes the milk froth up a bit, creating a thin layer of foam on top. When the milk pod is done, run the espresso pod right on top. You know what's next. Ooey gooey caramel. You can use the stuff you find with the ice cream toppings, or make your own. Give a generous drizzle of that stuff over the top and you're ready to serve! Caramel Macchiato with Starbucks Verismo
At 7am, when I just finished packing lunches, fixing breakfasts and am about to start on the mountain of laundry, a fancy coffee is just what I need. And I love that I can make it now in the comfort of my own robe! 
Caramel Macchiato with Starbucks Verismo
Now that the weather is warming up, the Verismo would be perfect for an iced drink as well! Put your vanilla in the bottom of a 12 oz glass, as you would in a hot caramel macchiato. Fill the glass halfway with ice, then almost to the top with the milk of your choice. Brew one Verismo espresso pod and pour it through the center of your drink. Drizzle with the caramel and enjoy! 

I am so excited to keep trying new drinks in the VerismoI will also be impress guests this weekend with some coffee alongside dessert! 

I was given the above Verismo brewer by Staples in exchange for my review. All opinions are my own. 

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Date Night Makeup Looks on a Mom's Schedule.

I am a member of the Collective Bias® Social Fabric® Community. This shop has been compensated as part of a social shopper amplification for Collective Bias and its advertiser. #CollectiveBias
Lets talk makeup. 

I typically don't wear much outside of eye makeup, but lately my body has forgotten that I will be 30 this year and I've been breaking out like mad. I'm blaming all my sweaty workouts for this case of teenage insanity.

I definitely needed a fresh makeup look. I started off with Rimmel's new Stay Matte Foundation. I was shocked at how well it covered all my imperfections, but didn't feel caked on at all. I was even more shocked that 8 hours into a 75 degree day later, it was still holding up perfectly! 
 photo 73452222-e903-43f4-956b-350d5195ee99_zps52b58216.jpg
Since I'm not the best at pairing eyeshadow colors to create a perfect look, I always get a trio of colors. I just love this one by Rimmel called Summer Chic. 

First, I swipe bottom half of the upper lid with the brown on the right. Next, it's the darker grey-ish color on the bottom of the case in the crease, followed by the light shimmer under my brows. I usually skip the eyeshadow step on a daily basis, so I love the look when I take the extra minute to get glam eyes. I do always wear a dark eye liner on the top and bottom lids. 


I love a good bronzer and am a big believer in it. It can completely change the look of your face and give you a nice summer glow. The Stay Matte Foundation really held my bronzer in place all day.  photo file_zps035409b0.jpg
Last step in the perfect quick date night look is mascara. I am quite the mascara junkie and have a little collection. The perfect mascara leaves thick, long lashes without clumpiness. I used Scandaleyes Retro Glam Mascara to create that look quickly!
 photo eff6e18d-2f7f-45c4-82f7-7ee71c2341e4_zpsd4c9623e.jpg
A little pink lipstick and this girl is ready for date night! 
 photo f3865b90-7e8b-462e-a2f2-b419ddd355e4_zpsfedf2140.jpg

Check out all the other amazing Rimmel products on your next trip to Walmart!

Does you need a little #BeautyInspiration? Rimmel is giving away 25 $50 gift baskets full of Rimmel products! Simply enter using the rafflecopter widget below! Also, April 2014 is Rimmel's 180 year anniversary, so to celebrate, there will be a $1 off coupon in this Sunday's newspaper for both the Stay Matte Foundation and Scaldaleyes Retro Glam Mascara I used!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. The Coty® Rimmel® Giveaway starts at 4/2/14 at 12:00 A.M. (midnight) ET and ends on 4/25/14 at 11:59:59 PM ET. Open only to (i) members of the Social Fabric community, (ii) legal residents of the fifty (50) United States, the District of Columbia, and (iii) who are at least 18 years old at the time of entry. Click here for Official Rules and details including how to enter, entry criteria, prizes and restrictions, etc. Void in PR and where prohibited. Sponsor: Collective Bias, Inc.


Sunday, February 16, 2014

Business Casual with Hanes


It's not a much talked about thing on this blog, but there happens to be another fashion lover in my house. My hubby. He doesn't really call himself that, but deep down, he has to know it. He loves shopping (but only for himself!) and likes to be wearing current, trendy clothing. Well, so long as he doesn't have to wear skinny jeans.

I would say his style is conservative meets preppy. He has a lot of classic pieces, that he wears with trendier ones for a more up to date look. He is lucky enough to get to wear jeans to work a lot, so this is his "business casual" most days. (Lucky, I know!) 
 photo 94f44d0a-8bd9-497a-9d1e-a89d28ea72ae_zps34747433.jpg
This is a current favorite sweater of his that he added a pop of color to with a Hanes ColorBlend t-shirt. The new ColorBlend shirts are the brands softest tee yet. They're perfect for adding a little something to your man's look. 
 photo file_zpsa6857335.jpg  photo 364cf05f-0347-45c5-a6a8-8e10656f1acc_zps80ec14aa.jpg
With a modern fit, tagless design and a price point under $5, you're going to want to head to Walmart or Hanes.com and stock up. The shirts are available in a large range of sizes and colors:

    • Chili Pepper Natural Heather (Currently wearing)
    • Medium Green Heather
    • Vermillion Orange
    • Ebony (Black)
    • Navy Heather
    • Caribbean Blue Heather
    • Oxford Grey
 photo file_zpscf3d74d1.jpg
These perfect layering tees will be perfect for spring! The soft material of these t-shirts is thick enough to be worn all on their own. Hanes has also improved the construction detail for more durability, giving it even more bang for your buck. 

Check out Hanes on Facebook and Twitter to see all about their new ComfortBlend t-shirts! 
I was selected for this opportunity as a member of Clever Girls Collective and the content and opinions expressed here are all my own.

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Pistachios For a Healthy Body

Tracking Pixel This is a sponsored post written by me on behalf of the Pistachio Health Institute.

It's no secret that abs are made in the kitchen. I wish I could whip up a pack of them as quickly as I can a batch of cookies, but that's neither here nor there. I've been on a mostly "clean eating" journey for a about a year now and I can't say enough good things about it. I can see a difference when I fall off the wagon and I can definitely feel a difference when I'm being good.

One area I feel is so important to me staying on track, is snacking. I eat in between every meal. Something small, healthy and fiber filled to keep me feeling full. Pistachios are a perfect snack to help you fuel up with fiber. With 12% of your daily value in one serving, you're well on your way to meeting the day's quota. And speaking of serving, you get about 49 kernels per ounce with pistachios, compared to 23 almonds or 18 cashews. I'll take the one with more, please. 
While it isn't a related to the health of the food, I like to eat something that looks good. I think pistachios are one of the prettiest foods. The purple and green fit right in on Pantone's colors of 2014! 
Pistachios are a delicious snack all on their own. I love their "portion control shell", as I call it. Makes you slow down while eating, which allows you to actually feel when you're full. They're also a fantastic addition to a salad, for a little added protein and crunch. 

Along with a healthy diet, I try to workout daily to keep my body as healthy and fit as possible. I have a whole lot of motivation right now, as swimsuit season is right around the corner! I don't always have time for a long workout, though and that's okay! Doing something is much better than doing nothing. It's proven that a workout will enhance your mood. If I workout first thing in the morning, not only is my mood better all day, but my food choices also are. 

Celebrity trainer Valerie Waters shares some great tips that she uses to keep stars fit and healthy, that can be beneficial for all of us!  


Need some motivation to get your body healthy? Enter to win the Shine like the Stars Sweepstakes pack from the Pistachio Health Institute

3 winners will receive “Shine like the Stars Sweepstakes” prize packs, which include:



  • (1) Valslides autographed by celebrity fitness trainer, Valerie Waters
  • (1) Valerie Waters workout DVD
  • (1) Valerie Waters workout instructions
  • (1) Pistachio Health tote bag
  • (1) Pistachio Health nut container
  • (3) 8 oz. bags of pistachios
  • (1) $100 VISA Gift Card
To enter, like the Pistachio Health Institute Facebook page and enter your info to win! Participants may enter once a day for the duration of the Sweepstakes. The Sweepstakes will end at 3:00 p.m. PDT on Friday, February 14, 2014.
What are you doing to get fit in 2014? 

This is a sponsored post written by me on behalf of the Pistachio Health Institute.