Stilettos and Diapers Reviews: 2013

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

If You Give a Girl a Sharpie...{Last minute DIY Christmas Gifts!}

This post is part of a social shopper marketing insight campaign with Pollinate Media Group™ and Sharpie, but all my opinions are my own. #pmedia #StaplesSharpie http://cmp.ly/3/8vNxcO

If you give a girl a Sharpie, the first thing she'll do, is craft!




She'll start a list of things she'll want to DIY and realize they can all be made with Sharpies. After a stop at Staples, her list will grow. Especially after seeing that Sharpies now come in metallics.  photo fd116f4a-9bbd-480a-83c9-96f9ecfb494a_zps2cd055fe.jpg
First up: Classmate gifts. A cheap package of styrofoam cups can be transformed into adorable snowmen with 3 different colors. To save from having to add gift tags, her child can write his name on the back. 
 photo cd7fb857-2b57-422e-b498-67167c7a521f_zpsbdba5842.jpg The cups are then filled with festive pencils, a candy cane, holiday fruit snacks and a package of hot cocoa. A ziplock bag with the top sliced off and some ribbon completes the look. Her child will be a huge hit in his class! 
But why stop there? So many Sharpies, so little time! She needs gifts for the teachers, and fast. 
Because it's always more fun to have something that's handmade, let's keep going with the Sharpies! A basic white mug, decorated with a Christmas tree and personalized on the back, is the perfect gift for a Kindergarten teacher.  photo IMG_2703_zps15dd9e80.jpg
Do all the decorating, then place on a cookie sheet in the oven. Turn the oven to 425. When the oven is up to temperature, set the timer for 30 minutes. When the timer is done, turn the oven off, but leave the mugs in until they are completely cool, or else they can crack. This will set the ink, although, it does change the color just a bit. The lime green Sharpie turns into the perfect Christmas tree green after baking! Fill the mug with Starbucks salted caramel cocoa packets and a candy cane before tying it up with a gift card. 

And keep in mind, that if you give a girl a Sharpie, she'll want something for herself, too. This means that her gold holiday manicure will get a face lift, thanks to a black Sharpie and a topcoat. {Just make sure you pull the skin back so the ink is on your nail only, not your skin!}
  photo cd209040-b406-46c6-aa6e-28953b8bf5c7_zps79ce8ae8.jpg

If you're in need of some last minute holiday gifts, these are quick, easy and sure to please! Keep in mind that if you use Sharpies on a glass, keep your design 1" away from the rim and do not eat from areas that have Sharpie designs on them. 

Head over to Staples to stock up on Sharpies. I got the 12 pack of assorted colors for $6 (they're still on sale!) and the metallic packs for $3.49 each! Check out Sharpies Pinterest boards, Instagram, Facebook and Twitter for more inspiration! 

Dr Sharp Dentistry {GIVEAWAY}

We started our clean eating adventure at the beginning of this year. It started a lot of thought about exactly what we're putting in our bodies. We changed tons of things in our diet and have just more recently, been looking at other areas where we are filling our bodies with unnecessary things. I'm no hardcore, never eat junk kind of person, but if I can change things I use on a daily basis to eliminate even more chemicals, I'm going to do it. 

Dental care is one place where there is a surprising amount of stuff I really don't want in my body and especially my kids. We've been using these Dr. Sharp products for the past few weeks and I am very impressed with them. 
The Dr. Sharp line was founded upon the fluoride-free concept and formulated with natural ingredients. It is also free of parabens, sodium lauryl sulfate and alcohol. I love that I can have 1 tube of toothpaste for my boys that is safe for both of them. The Wild Berry flavor and the monkey goes a long way with getting them excited for teeth brushing as well. 





The Fresh Mint with Green Tea toothpaste taste great and leaves my teeth feeling clean. The line also included a Fresh Mint Alcohol-Free Mouthwash and a Green Tea Mint Dental Floss. All the products are made with natural flavors, Vegan and are not tested on animals. Dr. Sharp takes it a step further and doesn't package in a box, to support a more sustainable environment. 

I think you'll be pleasantly surprised with the products, just as I was. It's not like giving up ice cream for pureed bananas. It's an easy swap that can help contribute to the health of your family! 

The people at Dr. Sharp Dentistry are giving one reader the same family package I have, with a retail value of $37.50. Use the widget below to enter! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Easy Fudge Pie {Comfort Food Perfection}


“This shop is part of a social shopper marketing insight campaign with Pollinate Media Group™ and Kleenex but all my opinions are my own. #pmedia #KleenexTarget  http://cmp.ly/3/8vNxcO


When the people in my house are sick, my first instinct is to cook. Something to warm them. Something that taste good enough to ease the discomfort. Something to make them smile. 

This school year, we've battled quite a large amount of sickness. After years with only a handful of doctor visits, we've been far more than a handful of times since September. And it's not just the one actually in school who's sick. It's everyone. Coughs, strep throat, sinus infections and the inevitable runny nose. Poor Cooper has seriously had one for 3 straight months. I'm relying on Kleenex to keep his little nose from getting chapped as he keeps trying to "blow one more time". And thanks to Kleenex, he doesn't look like Rudolph from all that blowing. 
 photo file_zps12587cf5.jpg
At least if I'm going to have boxes of Kleenex sitting all over my house, they are these adorably festive packages! Right now at Target, you can use this coupon to save $1 off a multi pack of Kleenex tissues.
 photo 724cd72f-7886-4681-925e-ab9303c81353_zps47d9e17c.jpg It's been really rainy here lately, just to add to all the sniffles, and I wanted to give my little man something to make him smile after school yesterday. I pulled out an old faithful recipe, written on crumpled paper, that has been stained with softened butter splatters. It's been used so many times, I can't even count. Most of those times to bring comfort to my family, or to take to someone who could use a little cheer at their home. 

The start is my no fail crust, which is an easy, 3 ingredient recipe passed on from a family friend. 

That crust is filled with silky chocolate, which is pretty much the cure all for anything, right?  photo file_zpsd234f00c.jpg

 photo file_zpsa36bff03.jpg
And to make this pie go from perfection to comfort food perfection, homemade whip cream and crushed candy canes are added to the top. 
 photo file_zps4d7863bb.jpg
Which makes for one happy, runny nosed little man. 
 photo 3a4e16e9-5559-4735-a2c4-50601fc86034_zpsaaf80425.jpg




Easy Fudge Pie Recipe:

Crust: 

5 1/3 Tbsp Butter, softened
3 oz Cream Cheese, softened
3/4 cup Flour

Filling:

1 stick Butter
6 Tbsp Unsweetened Cocoa
1 cup Sugar
1/4 c Flour
2 Eggs

Mix crust ingredients with a fork and press into greased pie pan. For the filling, melt butter in a saucepan. Once melted, remove from heat and whisk in remaining ingredients. Pour into crust and bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes. 

Whipped Cream:

3/4 cup Heavy Whipping Cream
2 Tbsp. Sugar

Whisk ingredients with a hand mixer until soft peaks form. Put on pie just before serving. Store leftovers in an airtight container in the refrigerator. Serve with crushed candy canes for a festive treat! 

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Datevitation: The gift of quality time.

Our 8th Anniversary was earlier this week. Still can't believe we've been married that long, or that we've been together over 10 years now. Time really flies. We don't need a single thing in the way of gifts. We're building a house and have spent lots of extra lately on blinds, fans, furniture and the like. But, nonetheless, it still kinda sucks to show up completely empty handed to your Anniversary dinner. 

This year, I gave the hubs this awesome Datevitation love coupon book








The book is completely customizable and full of coupons for things we can do together. So really, it's like giving him my time, in a cute little package. What could be a better gift?


The Datevitation coupon book is so customizable, that you can even add your own faces in! Isn't that so cute?! The hubs loves his gift and is really excited about cashing in his free massage sometime soon! 

The coupons I picked out for our book included a wine and cheese night, a movie-in night and even a little bow chicka wow-wow. There's a little something for everyone. Or a lot of something. There are over 500 date ideas! There are really adventurous ones like skydiving and racing, outdoorsy ones like camping and hiking and super romantic grown up ones. The coupon books are really quick and simple to make online. They are very nice quality books and come in a little 'surprise' sleeve. 

But the love coupon book is not just a gift for your significant other. They've recently added "boy" and "girl" characters with over 200 activities for kids and parents. I love taking my boys out for "mommy dates" so this is a perfect gift for them, too! 
Coupon books normally start at $25. But, as a special gift for y'all, you can use the code STILETTOSANDDIAPERS for $10 off your purchase and free shipping! You can order up to December 13th for Christmas delivery and these would be a perfect stocking stuffer! 

One lucky reader is going to win a Datevitation book for themselves! Use Rafflecopter to enter below! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

I was given the above coupon book to review. All opinions are my own. 

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Inspired Travel Look, For Less.

“This shop is part of a social shopper marketing insight campaign with Pollinate Media Group™ and People StyleWatch and InStyle magazines but all my opinions are my own. #pmedia #PeopleInStyle http://cmp.ly/3/8vNxcO

It's really no secret that I have a lot of clothes. I love shopping and keeping up with trends. Even with a pretty loaded closet, I get the "I have nothing to wear" blues on a semi regular basis. Don't we all? I love getting inspired to create new, fresh looks with pieces I already have.


The best way to get that inspiration, is a fantastic magazine. InStyle and People StyleWatch are both filled with hot trends, new looks to try and easy guides to putting looks together. My I love the internet and all, but there's just something about grabbing your page markers and going to town. 

 photo file_zps99e18102.jpg
It hit me, when I was in bed, carefully adding markers to nearly every page, that I didn't have a travel outfit planned. Why? Because I typically don't care, jump in the car looking like a mess and end up embarrassed when we get where we're going. Not this year, I tell ya! In this fantastic guide to holiday looks, included was a "Trip Home" look, which I loved. I also couldn't stop browsing all the fabulous statement sweaters they had listed. 

What came of all those marked pages, was a travel outfit that is comfortable, includes the layering trend that is all over everywhere and best of all? Budget friendly. 
  photo 86e39ce0-7df2-47f0-b5e5-351546bf2009_zpsf86b1357.jpg  photo file_zps3b59edcd.jpg  photo c5169ae7-789c-4520-ab53-ce444b58ac90_zpse7a73eb2.jpg  photo edb16f2e-f2ae-40b0-a0a5-40fb13b23e44_zps2fc2d05c.jpg  photo file_zpsdb3b9988.jpg

Boyfriend Jeans: Gap - sale $22.99 | Flannel: Target, Old - $8.98| Sweater: Old Navy - 12.94 (used coupon to make it $7.47) | Shoes: JustFab - $39.95 (50% off your first pair!)| Bag: JustFab - $39.95 | Watch: Target - $16.99 (used a coupon to make it free!)

Grand Total: $119.34 for a look that can take you right from the car or plane, to dinner with your family. Boom! 


Until 12/7 at Target, there is a promotion to get a hearty dose of inspiration for a steal. When you buy 1 InStyle magazine and 1 People StyleWatch in the same order, you'll get a $5 Target gift card! Honestly, both of these December issues are really great. There are tons of holiday looks, including what to wear to Christmas parties, work events and more. Hurry and go snag this deal before 12/7!

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Together Time.

I grew up with 2 sisters and was 13 before I had a brother. To say this whole new world of boys has been an adjustment for me, is an understatement. They like to get dirty. They don't care if they eat after touching the toilet. They hate baths. They like creepy crawly things. They fart. It's just totally different from what I grew up in.

I've learned a lot from them both in my 5 1/2 years as a mom. But what doesn't come naturally to me, is activities that are really orientated to them. For some reason, they don't like browsing the Target clearance aisles as much as I do. When we got our TogetherBox in the mail this month, I knew it was a match made in heaven. 

This month, was a Bug Box. A bug "castle", a stuffed worm, a net, a bug grabbing tool and more. The best part was the little book that gives you multiple activities that you can do with the contents of your box. From bug hunting, to bug drawing and even dressing like a bug, the TogetherBox had everything we needed in it for endless hours of family time. 
The boys and I went out in the backyard for a bug hunt. They were so excited to be armed with their tools! Cooper kept an eye out for small bugs on the trees, while Callan stuck to the ground. They gathered leaves and sticks for the bugs home and put them in the "castle".
It was so nice, for me, that they were running around with a mission. They weren't just bolting away from me, they were searching everywhere for a pet bug. 
We saw spiders, ants and lots of other bugs that we took the time to examine, but they really wanted to grab this weird, neon bug we found. It was furry and really cute. Cooper, very proudly put it on his dresser and was so excited to show Daddy when he came home from work. 
I let the boys use the chalk to draw all the different bugs they saw on our hunt. Ever just sit back and watch your kids draw? The way they interpret things is just so fun to see. 

The TogetherBox is a monthly subscription that delivers fun packed boxes right to your door. Each box contains 3-5 unique activities and you'll have everything you need to do them. No searching for anything! Each month is a different surprise theme that is sure to make every child in your family (and you!) happy. 

Want to add some easy to your family time? Try out TogetherBox! Use the code "stilettosanddiapers" for 50% off your first box! What's more than that, is the first 2 people to use the code will get their box free! So hurry over and sign up! 

Make sure to check out TogetherBox on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Pinterest to keep up with all their fun! 

Thank you, TogetherBox, for providing me with the bug box shown in exchange for my honest opinion. We had and continue to have a such fun with it! 

Friday, November 8, 2013

LeapFrog App Toys (The perfect Christmas gift!)

It's no secret that LeapFrog toys are one of those that everyone loves. Parents are happy that they are educational, while still keeping their children occupied and kids love how much fun they are. With Christmas right around the corner, you're going to want to check into a couple of new releases from LeapFrog! 

Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Stylus & Writing App

This breakthrough app toy turns your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch into the ultimate learn-to-write tool. With more than 85 interactive activities, your children will write letters, numbers and work on their drawing skills with the citizens of Doodleberg. I am shocked that in a matter of days since using Mr. Pencil, even my 2 year old is tracing letters perfectly. And it's not just for kids that young. My 5 year old is loving all the different activities as well. He has been writing a few of his numbers backwards and this app is really helping! I love that we can bring the iPad and Mr. Pencil to run errands and the boys are entertained and educated at the same time. 

Creativity Camera Protective Case & App

Insert your iPhone or iTouch into the kid friendly "camera" and your child becomes a pro! They can take pictures, edit them with silly faces go on photo missions, create albums and even play exciting games. Don't worry about handing over your phone, either. It's very secure in the camera case and my sneaky boys can't get it opened by themselves! 

Add these great LeapFrog toys to your shopping list for the holidays. You and your kids will be very happy you did! 

I received these products in part of a campaign with LeapFrog and MomSelect. All opinions are my own. My kids really like these toys. They're playing them right now as I type. 

Monday, October 28, 2013

I'll take a timeout, please.

This post is part of a social shopper marketing insight campaign with Pollinate Media Group®, PEOPLE Magazine & Hershey’s, but all my opinions are my own. #HersheysPeople #pmedia http://cmp.ly/3/8vNxcO


This whole school mom thing has really been a shock for me. I'm not used to being out of my pajamas before 10am, packing lunches for the pickiest eater ever, or spending 1-2 hours a day on the school drop-off/pick-up.

The latter was probably my biggest shock. Since we're currently living in a different school district until our house is done, the drive time is quite a bit. About 15 minutes each way equals at least an hour just in driving. I then, in some kind of space world, thought the pick-up line would be a slow and steady move that would take a few minutes. What a joke. I never expected to wait in a line that turns 2 streets outside of the school. I also, didn't expect parents get there up to an hour before school lets out. But I understand. The front of the line is a 20-30 minute difference from the back. So, I get there early. And I get bored. Really bored. 

The first week or so, I sat there scrolling back hours in my social media feeds while Callan napped in the backseat. I thought about all the things I wished I had and decided to make a "Mommy's Time Out Bag". Since that time in line is basically an amazingly awesome quiet time for me, I wanted to fill it with things I don't necessarily get to do other times. 
 photo file_zpsbe9bf9a4.jpg
First up, PEOPLE Magazine. I need to know what's going on with all my celebrity faves. And what mom ever has time to sit in the quiet and read a magazine? (Unless your locked in the bathroom, of course) This has seriously become my favorite things to do. Frequently, I paint my nails right before, the read away as they dry. Of course, my window is down and my feet are on the dash. It really is heaven in that pick-up line. 
 photo file_zps57e24990.jpg
While my basket has a few snacks, like bars, apples and bottled water, it needs some sweetness, too. I try to eat pretty healthy and that has always included a little dark chocolate. I absolutely love Hershey's dish candy classic bag that is all dark. I will be buying it to give out for Halloween. We need to have candy, but I doubt we'll get many trick-or-treaters. That means plenty of stockpile for me! 
 photo file_zps1886b8bb.jpg
In my bucket is small toiletry bag with lotion, lipgloss, hair clips, headbands and nail polish. You never know when you're going to make an unexpected stop after school, or who you're going to see, for that matter!
 photo file_zps8a42c60a.jpg
Are you a pick-up line mommy? What do you do to beat the boredom? I think it's time for a Mommy's Time Out! Grab yourself a basket, a PEOPLE Magazine and your favorite Hershey's candy. Seriously. You won't regret it!

Head over here, while supplies last, to print a coupon for Target that will save you $2 off your purchase, when you buy both Hershey's dish candy and a PEOPLE Magazine. The Hershey's candy will also be perfect for Halloween!

Sunday, September 8, 2013

Show me your #Fabsmile!

They say prevention is the best medicine, right? Well, that is true when it comes to dental hygiene. Nearly 29 years and I'm still cavity free. I owe it to my Mom being one of the biggest sticklers about flossing and brushing ever. 

One fantastic company is helping folks all over keep a healthy and FAB Smile.  





The American Dental Association recommends replacing your toothbrush every 3 months. Do you do that? Because I know I don't. I can't remember who got what brush when. FlossandBrush.com makes it easy for us to remember to change our brushes. How? $1/month, per family member, sends you a kit of brushes and floss every 3 months. When that package comes in, it's time to change your toothbrush! For $2/month, you get the brush as well as whitening gel. And that's the same, high-quality gel that is sold in dental offices. 

I got my first package last week and started passing out the goods immediately. 


The brushes are made in America and are compact soft, micro feathered bristles. The floss is made in America, mint, waxed and comes in 60 yards. 

These boys are the things that bring out my #FABsmile the most! 


With life being so busy for all of us, especially with the school year, it's so nice and easy to not have to think about getting new brushes. Such an important thing that is so easy to overlook. I want to keep a healthy mouth, so that I'm never afraid to show the smile that these guys are continuously are giving me! 

Want to win a year membership to FlossandBrush.com? Complete the following 2 steps and you will be entered to win! 

1. Visit FAB's Pinterest page and repine an image from any one of the "Smile Boards" that makes you smile. Include the #FABsmile hashtag in the pin, then come back and share the link here. 


2. Sign up for Floss and Brush's mailing list here

Leave your Pinterest link in a comment with your email address and that is it! Contest ends 9/15 at midnight EST. Must be a USA resident to win. 

Don't forget to check out Floss and Brush on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Friday, August 30, 2013

Maxi-Cosi Mico AP {GIVEAWAY}

Remember this amazing carseat that I got to try out? 
Well, you are in luck, because one lucky reader gets to win one of their very own! 

I am so, so impressed with the eye candy that is the Mico AP. Just look at these colors! And? That is only a few of many you can choose from! The pink is obviously the biggest, being that it's one of my most favorite colors and the color I would really like my next car seat to be...
The Mico AP is such an amazingly light carseat, of course, it is the lightest in its class. I'm 99.99% sure you'll think it's the lightest seat you've carried. The other 0.01% of you are just crazy. 

With the Air Pocket Technology, that is impressively safe in a crash, it gives an added peace of mind that your baby is as safe as possible in a vehicle. With the upgraded comfort features, including the Cozi Dozi head rest, I don't think your baby will be complaining about the seat either! Super premium plush fabrics and looks to make every other baby drool? Sign me up! 

The Mico AP is a rear-facing seat for children up to 22 pounds and up to 29 inches tall. It is compatible with the Maxi-Cosi Kaia and Quinny Yezz strollers to make for a very sleek ride. I have the Maxi-Cosi Kaia and it is amazing. Having used very bulky travel systems with my 2 boys, I would love to be able to use the Kaia and Mico AP if we have baby #3. There will be tons more space in the back of my car! 
Are you in love yet? Need a Mico AP of your own? Today is your lucky day! Use the rafflecopter widget below to enter for a chance to win your choice of color! 


Open to US residents only. 

This is a sponsored post on behalf of Maxi-Cosi. I received product and payment in exchange for sharing information and for my honest review.